8 Difference Between Australian Flag And New Zealand Flag

Comprehend the significant disparities between the Australian Flag and New Zealand flag in this article, considering their significance and symbolism. Nevertheless, the two flags are dissimilar. They also feature a handful of stars surrounding the flag. Both incorporate the Union Jack (flag of the United Kingdom) in the upper left corner as a representation of their historical connection to Britain.

Nearly identical, a total of 5 submissions were received, with over 30,000 designs being sent in by the public for the new flag. Australia decided to hold a public competition, and the flag was officially adopted on January 1, 1901, coinciding with Australia’s federation, as announced by the country’s first Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Sir Edmund Barton.

On September 3, 1901, the flag, originally called the Commonwealth Blue Ensign, was first flown at the Melbourne Exhibition Building. The 5 individuals who shared the prize money of £200 were awarded first place equally.

The flag of Australia, also known as the Ensign Blue Australian, is based on the British Blue Ensign. It features a blue field with the Union Jack in the upper hoist quarter, augmented by a large white seven-pointed star and five small white five-pointed stars. This arrangement represents the Southern Cross constellation and the Star Commonwealth.

Australia, together with the Commonwealth, represents all the federal territories and states. The Star of the Commonwealth is the emblem that symbolizes the Six Points of the Australian Federation.

The constellation known as the Southern Cross indicates the geographical location of Australia in the southern hemisphere, reminding Australians of their precious and rich Aboriginal heritage and the various indigenous legends associated with the stars.

Reflecting loyalty to the British Empire, the incorporation of the Union Jack in the design can be observed from a historical perspective. Rooted in the fundamental principles on which the Australian Federation was established and as six former British colonies, the Union Jack serves as a representation of Australia’s rich history. It is an unmistakable emblem of Australia’s affiliation with Great Britain, as the Union Jack is the flag of Great Britain.

The nation of Australia, which is based on parliamentary democracy and was founded on ideals and principles that represent the rights and responsibilities of its citizens, serves to uphold the rule of law and the freedom of speech. This is symbolized by the three crosses of Patrick, St. Andrew, and St. George.

Flag of New Zealand

The badge or seal with the Blue Ensign should fly on vessels from the colonies when instructed by the British Government. Its origins date back to 1865, when the flag of New Zealand emerged. The design was officially approved in 1902, several years before becoming the national flag.

The flag of New Zealand, also known as the Ensign Blue maritime British, is based on the British Blue Ensign. It features a blue field with the Union Jack in the upper hoist corner, and four red stars with four white stars centered within the Southern Cross constellation.

The first quarter of New Zealand’s historical origins recognizes it as a British dominion and colony. The Jack Union emphasizes this country’s location in the South Pacific Ocean, with the Southern Cross stars. The royal blue background is derived from the ensign of the Royal Navy’s Blue Squadron. The flag of New Zealand is a symbol of the people and government of the realm.

The flag of New Zealand is a rare example of a colonial origin, as the nation underwent substantial political developments while only making minor modifications to represent it.

The current flag was chosen to be retained by the nation in this referendum, with a majority of 57% to 43%. The voting for the second and final phase of the two-step binding referendum on altering the flag occurred and concluded on March 24, 2016. There has been a discussion regarding modifying the flag for numerous years.

Differences Between the Flags of Australia and New Zealand

BASIS OF COMPARISON AUSTRALIAN FLAG NEW ZEALAND FLAG Adoption Union Jack Number Of Stars Number Of Points On The Star & What They Represent Southern Cross Union Jack Stars Commonwealth Star

Main Points

  • Both Australia and New Zealand display the Southern Cross constellation prominently next to the Union Jack.
  • The Australian and New Zealand flags are rare examples of flags with colonial origins, as the nation underwent substantial political developments and continued to undergo minor modifications.
  • The flag of New Zealand carries the symbol of the United Kingdom, located in the upper left quarter, on a dark blue background. It consists of four stars and five thin white stripes, surrounded by five corners.
  • Highlighting New Zealand’s position in the South Pacific Ocean, the stars on the Flag symbolize the Southern Cross constellation. New Zealand’s historical origins as a previous British colony and dominion are acknowledged by the Union Jack in the upper left corner of the Flag.
  • The Australian flag has the Union Jack in the canton, displaying five white multipointed stars in a blue field, forming the constellation of the Southern Cross, which indicates our geographical location in the southern hemisphere. The Southern Cross is a seven-pointed constellation representing the six Australian states and the Northern Territory.
  • The Australian National Flag serves as the main emblematic representation of Australia, acknowledged by legislation, convention, and heritage, and is equally owned by all citizens of Australia.
  • On the occasion of United Nations Day, the United Nations Flag holds the exclusive privilege of being hoisted in a position of greater prominence than the Australian National Flag, when both are flown within Australia or any Australian territory.