About Nanny Workers Compensation

Nanny workers compensation insurance protects the caregiver and the employer from the expenses and liabilities associated with a work-related accident. A single accident can leave the household employer liable for thousands of dollars in medical bills. Don’t assume that this liability is covered under your Homeowner’s Insurance Policy!

If a worker gets hurt while on the job and has medical expenses and lost wages that qualify, this insurance policy will reimburse them. In most states, household employers like nannies, senior caregivers, or housekeepers are required to have Workers’ Compensation insurance. If you don’t have this insurance, you may be responsible for paying your injured employee’s expenses out of your own pocket. Having workers’ compensation insurance provides legal protection for you, the employer, regardless of who is at fault. When an employee accepts benefits from this insurance, they typically give up their right to sue you, which is especially important.

Regardless of the risk, all applicants must ensure that they obtain the most expensive method of coverage, which is typically state funds. While there are some state funds available as a last resort provider where coverage is required by law, this nanny insurance is typically available through commercial insurers. It must be managed by a state-licensed insurance broker, and it is important to note that workers’ compensation insurance is not subject to taxes when obtaining workers’ compensation insurance.

nanny workers compensation

HWS has an exclusive insurance partner who will help clients easily obtain affordable workers’ compensation insurance coverage. HWS clients can receive a free quote for household employer workers’ compensation insurance. Contact us for more details.”

Our guides provide links and information for each state’s workers’ compensation insurance laws and household employment laws. HWS strongly recommends speaking to a licensed insurance agent when purchasing insurance for household employers, as the below chart is intended solely for informational purposes and does not offer specific insurance or legal advice.

Make sure to check coverage about your insurance agent. Employers may also need to update automobile insurance if an employee in their household drives their personal vehicle.

Where Household Employers Need Workers’ Compensation Insurance

STATE REQUIRED FULL TIME REQUIRED PART TIME VOLUNTARY COVERAGE NOTES
Alaska Yes Yes
Alabama Yes
Arizona Yes
Arkansas Yes
California Yes Yes Working 52 or more hours per quarter. Typically obtained as a rider on the employer’s homeowner’s insurance – talk to your licensed agent.
Colorado Yes Regularly working 40 or more hours per week.
Connecticut Yes Yes Regularly working 26 or more hours per week.
Delaware Yes Yes Earning $750 or more per quarter.
District of Columbia Yes Yes Working 240 hours or more per quarter.
Florida Yes Required if employing 4 or more full or part time employees.
Georgia Yes Required if employing 3 or more full or part time employees.
Hawaii Yes Yes Earning $225 or more per quarter.
Idaho Yes
Illinois Yes Regularly work 40 or more hours per week.
Indiana Yes
Iowa Yes Yes Earning $1500 or more per year.
Kansas Yes Yes Total gross wages to all employees $20,000 or more per year.
Kentucky Yes Required if 2 or more full or part time household employees.
Louisiana Yes
Maine Yes
Maryland Yes Yes All employers subject to Maryland Unemployment Insurance.
Massachusetts Yes Yes Regularly working 16 or more hours per week.
Michigan Yes Regularly working 35 hours or more per week.
Minnesota Yes Yes All employers subject to Minnesota Unemployment Insurance.
Mississippi Yes Required if 5 or more full and part time household employees.
Missouri Yes
Montana Yes
Nebraska Yes
Nevada Yes
New Hampshire Yes Yes
New Jersey Yes Yes
New Mexico Yes
New York Yes Regularly employed 40 or more hours per week. Live in workers are required to be covered regardless of hours worked.
North Carolina Yes
North Dakota Yes
Ohio Yes Yes Pays wages of $160 or more per quarter.
Oklahoma Yes Yes Pays wages of $10,000 or more in a year.
Oregon Yes
Pennsylvania Yes
Rhode Island Yes
South Carolina Yes Required if employing 4 or more full or part time household workers.
South Dakota Yes Yes Employed more than 20 hours per week for six or more weeks.
Tennessee Yes
Texas Yes
Utah Yes Regularly works 40 or more hours per week.
Vermont Yes
Virginia Yes Required if 3 or more household workers are employed.
Washington Yes Required if 2 or more household workers are employed.
West Virginia Yes
Wisconsin Yes
Wyoming Yes

Resource: Survey by the US Department of Labor: STATE LAWS REGARDING EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION.

Talk to your insurance company!

We are pleased to refer our trusted clients to partner insurance in order to make them happy. We recommend that you discuss your specific insurance issues directly with our licensed partner insurance professionals, as the household payroll solutions offered by HomeWork do not qualify them for providing insurance advice. We strongly recommend that you engage with a licensed insurance agent who can discuss your insurance situation and the regulations of your state.

» HomeWorkSolutions.Com Blog: Real Life Illustration.

» US Department of Health & Human Services: Worker’s Compensation in the Consumer Market.

» Survey of State Worker’s Compensation Laws conducted by the US Department of Labor.