How long is the World Cup? When the final is and how Qatar 2022 compares to previous tournaments

In comparison to prior World Cups, this competition has a longer duration, and the path that teams must follow to reach it is the ultimate goal, of course, is to reach the final of the World Cup and hoist the trophy in slightly less than a month.

The last group matches will take place on Friday, marking the conclusion of Group G and Group H.

The knockout stage begins the next day, on Saturday 3 December.

There will be two round of 16 matches per day – at 3pm and 7pm – until Tuesday 6 December.

The quarter-finals are scheduled for Friday 9 and Saturday 10 December, with the semi-finals following on Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 December.

Below is the complete timetable for the knockout stages.

Round of 16

Saturday, December 3rd.

  • M1 – champions of Group A versus second-placed team of Group B (Khalifa International Stadium, Al Rayyan; kick-off 3pm).
  • M2 – victors of Group C versus second place finishers of Group D (Ahmed bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan; start at 7pm).
  • Sunday, December 4th.

  • M3 – winners of Group D versus runners-up of Group C (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; kick-off 3pm).
  • M4 – the victors of Group B versus the second-place team of Group A (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kick-off at 7pm).
  • Monday, the 5th of December.

  • M5 – champions of Group E versus second-place finishers of Group F (Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah; kickoff at 3pm).
  • M6 – winners of Group G versus runners-up of Group H (Stadium 974, Doha; kick-off at 7pm).
  • Tuesday, December 6th.

  • M7 – winners of Group F versus runners-up of Group E (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kick-off at 3pm).
  • M8 – winners of Group H vs runners-up of Group G (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kick-off at 7pm).
  • Quarter-finals

    Friday, December 9th.

  • QF1 – victors of M5 versus victors of M6 (Education City Stadium, Al Rayyan; kick-off 3pm).
  • QF2 – victors of M1 versus victors of M2 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kick-off 7pm).
  • Saturday, December 10th.

  • QF3 – victors of M7 versus victors of M8 (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha; kick-off 3pm).
  • QF4 – victors of M3 versus victors of M4 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kick-off 7pm).
  • Semi-finals

    Tuesday, December 13th.

  • SF1 – victors of QF2 versus victors of QF1 (Lusail Iconic Stadium, Lusail; kickoff 7pm).
  • Wednesday, December 14th.

  • SF2 – victors of QF4 versus victors of QF3 (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor; kick-off at 7pm).
  • When is the World Cup final?

    The final match of the World Cup will occur on Sunday 18 December at 3pm, at the iconic Lusail Stadium.