2022 Heisman Trophy winner: USC QB Caleb Williams claims award giving Trojans most Heismans in history

Reggie Bush, who was forced to vacate his 2005. Heisman Trophy award, has now become the first winner from the Trojans’ quarterbacks since running back Charles White. in 1979.. All three finalists, Georgia’s Stetson Bennett IV, Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, and TCU’s Max Duggan, were transfers. Caleb Williams., the standout sophomore quarterback for USC, has won the Heisman Trophy in 2022. under head coach Lincoln Riley, who has now become a three-time Heisman winner in his six seasons as a head coach.

During this particular season, Williams accumulated a total of 4,075 yards by passing the ball, scoring 37 touchdowns, and only throwing four interceptions. Additionally, he successfully completed 66.1% of his passes. Despite dealing with injuries, Williams managed to lead USC to an impressive 11-2 record, even though they suffered a defeat against Utah in the Pac-12 Championship Game.

His triumph in the country awards USC a total of eight Heismans, the highest number achieved by any program. USC will now share the top spot with Notre Dame, Ohio State, and Oklahoma, as the Heisman Trust and NCAA no longer acknowledge Bush as the recipient of the trophy in 2005..

The status of Williams for that game is yet to be determined. The Trojans will be going to the Cotton Bowl to face Tulane on Jan. 2, falling just short of a conference title and a potential College Football Playoff bid.

This year, Williams is at the forefront in terms of total points, having scored 47 touchdowns (with 37 of them being passes), showcasing his exceptional skills as the game’s most electrifying game-changer. Williams surpassing all three contenders for college football’s most esteemed individual accolade highlights his significance to USC’s triumphs. The three runners-up to Williams will each take part in the playoffs.

In a seemingly effortless manner, he showcased his outstanding performance against the Irish Fighting team, solidifying his place as the favorite to win the Heisman Award. At one point, as he made his way towards the end zone, it was clear that he was about to flash the Heisman pose, acknowledging the recognition for his exceptional performance. With a total of 10 touchdowns, including three against Notre Dame’s defense, Williams further solidified his spot in the national spotlight during the final three games of the CFP race. Unfortunately, USC’s leading rusher, Travis Dye, had to sit out the season due to an injury he sustained on November 11th.

Approaching the voting deadline, his argument stayed robust as he threw for 363 yards and three touchdowns in the defeat, despite being hindered by injuries to a hamstring and a finger on his throwing hand in the Pac-12 championship match. Williams created opportunities for himself as contenders like Michigan RB… Blake Corum and Tennessee QB… Hendon Hooker experienced injuries that ended their seasons, which diminished their arguments.

In the subsequent year, Bush emerged as the victor prior to his teammate, Matt Leinart., who secured the Heisman in 2004. as a second-year student. He will not be the initial USC quarterback to triumph in the accolade and then resume his studies the following season, similar to Bryce Young, the 2021 Heisman Trophy recipient from Alabama. Williams, like Young, is anticipated to continue playing college football for another season as he will not meet the requirements for the NFL Draft until after his third year.

  • Caleb Williams., Quarterback, University of Southern California: 2,031 points (544 votes in the first position).

  • Max Duggan, quarterback for TCU, received 1,420 points (188 first-place votes).

  • C.J. Stroud, quarterback for Ohio State, received 539 points (37 first-place votes).

  • Stetson Bennett, Quarterback, Georgia: 349 points (36 votes for first place).

  • Hendon Hooker, quarterback from Tennessee, received a total of 226 points, including 17 first-place votes.

  • Bryce Young, quarterback for Alabama, received 141 points (including 17 first-place votes).

  • Blake Corum, running back for the University of Michigan, received a total of 125 points, including 8 first-place votes.

  • Michael Penix Jr., Quarterback for Washington, received 114 points (including 9 first-place votes).

  • Bijan Robinson, running back from Texas, received 75 points (including 4 first-place votes).

  • Drake Maye, Quarterback, North Carolina: 42 points (3 top votes).

  • Heisman Trophy recipients from the University of Southern California (USC)

    YearPlayerPosition% of points achievable.


    Mike Garrett.




    O.J. Simpson.




    Charles White.




    Marcus Allen.




    Carson Palmer.




    Matt Leinart.




    Reggie Bush (nullified).




    Caleb Williams.



    * Prior to the Heisman Trust revoking his award, Bush relinquished the trophy.