FIFA World Cup 2022: Top teams which failed to qualify for Qatar WC

The World Cup will not include some renowned big names who proved to be a tough bridge to cross for the qualifiers.

Italy (UEFA).

Giorgio Chiellini, Marco Verratti, and Federico Chiesa will not participate in the crucial stage of Qatar. Italy has now failed to qualify for a consecutive second World Cup. After being defeated by North Macedonia in its play-off match in Palermo, Italy, the reigning European champions will not be playing in the 2022 World Cup.

Sweden (UEFA).

The final match of the World Cup playoffs ended in failure for Poland, as they lost to Sweden. After making a second successive appearance in the World Cup quarterfinals in Russia in 2018, Poland’s failure led to their loss against Sweden in the playoff final. Zlatan Ibrahimovic, the 40-year-old forward for AC Milan, is now likely to have played his final World Cup.

Scotland (UEFA).

Scotland lost 1-3 to Ukraine in the UEFA World Cup Qualifying playoffs, failing to make it to the tournament since 1998 and getting eliminated from the race for the 2022 Qatar.

Ukraine (UEFA).

In the World Cup Qualifiers final playoff, Wales secured their first ever qualification for the FIFA World Cup in 1958, as Ukraine suffered a 0-1 defeat against Wales.

Nigeria (CAF).

Leicester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, and Ademola Lookman, as well as Napoli’s Victor Osimhen, are among the notable absences at the World Cup. Nigeria experienced a shocking elimination on their home turf against Ghana, one of the dominant forces in African football.

Algeria (CAF).

Algeria, the victor of the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON), has been unable to secure a spot in the World Cup for the second time in a row. In Qatar, Riyad Mahrez, the winger for Manchester City and captain of Algeria, will not be present.

Egypt (CAF).

This year, Mohamed Salah will not participate in the biggest platform of global soccer. The Pharaohs experienced a comparable outcome against the same adversary in the third round qualifiers after their defeat in the AFCON final to Senegal in a shootout last month. It was a dual setback for Egypt within a span of two months. Currently, Mohamed Salah is undeniably one of the most dreaded attackers in international football.

Colombia (CONMEBOL).

Colombian star players Sanchez Davinson and James Rodriguez, along with Luis Diaz, are among those who will miss out on the World Cup. Colombia has failed to make a successive third appearance in the World Cup, after finishing in the round-of-16 and experiencing a quarterfinal exit in the previous two editions.


Peru and Chile were hoping to qualify by appealing against Castillo’s Byron’s eligibility, but their appeals were rejected. Notable absentees will include Chile’s top-scorer and most-capped player, Arturo Vidal and Alexis Sanchez. Chile has now failed to make the cut for the World Cup for the second successive time.


Peru was defeated by Australia in the penalty shootout, leading to their elimination from the competition for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

New Zealand (a country in Oceania).

The Whites, all of them, came into the intercontinental playoff with a win over the Solomon Islands, thanks to an early goal by Joel Campbell, to crash out of the race for Qatar 2022. However, they were beaten by Costa Rica.